Lace in November

Not much going on around here lately. Both my husband and I came down with a cold, and it’s been a pretty miserable week. With a fever and stuffed-up head, I couldn’t concentrate on much, but I did make great progress on the lace tablerunner I’m making for my mother-in-law’s Christmas present. Once you’ve made the first square, the pattern is really easy to crank out without paying much attention.

The biggest problem I had was my hands cramping up – the last time I made something on tiny steel crochet hooks, I was a kid crocheting with my great-grandma (hi Momo!). Those tiny hooks really make my hands hurt. Anyway, I’m using this pattern, a Japanese charted one, and all that’s left to do now is crochet three rounds of edging around the whole thing. Then I hope some blocking will make the corners between squares lay down a lot flatter.

photo of nearly complete tablerunner

Hope she likes it! Both times I’ve been to Greece to meet my husband’s family, she’s brought out intricate needlework items to show me. Then she laments that “young people these days” don’t know how to do any of these traditional arts. So I’m hoping she’ll appreciate a lace tablerunner. I hope, anyway!

Already thinking about my next project. Since I’m tired of working with the tiny steel hook, I’d like it to be something with thicker yarn. Probably knitting, too, since there are more knitting patterns in my queue. I’ve had some lovely red Kilcarra Aran Tweed in my stash for a year or two, and I can never decide what to make with it. It’s single-ply, which I normally don’t like much, but I’m a sucker for tweed. Plus, it was less than $1 at a thrift shop for 12 skeins. I’m thinking about this sweater vest, but I’d have to resize it. Still undecided, so suggestions for nice tweed patterns are welcome!

Leave a Reply

