Autumn in Paris

So now that I’m pretty much settled in in Paris, I thought I’d try to blog more regularly. Since I wasn’t able to bring my knitting machines with me, I’ll be focusing mainly on hand knitting and life in Paris as an expat. Right now the leaves are falling, and those that remain are a gorgeous blend of yellow, orange, and red, so it’s a pretty time of year.

Yesterday I ventured out to Paris’s biggest (only?) Japanese bookstore, Junku (ジュンク堂).It’s down the street from Paris Opéra, which is gorgeous even on a cloudy day:

photo of Paris Opéra

Anyway, the knitting & crochet section was so crowded, I couldn’t even reach the books. Lots of interest in Japanese patterns in Paris, it seems. Eventually I got through and picked up the new winter issue of Keito Dama (#144):

front cover of Keito Dama 144, winter 2009-2010

I don’t know about you, but I think that cover pattern is hideous. You can’t see it in the picture, but inside there’s a picture of the skirt, a bizarre number with tiered ruffles. I can’t see how it could flatter the wearer at all. The hat doesn’t help, either. Luckily, though, there are many good patterns in the rest of the issue. The winter issue always has even more patterns than the other 3 issues each year, so it’s quite a bargain. You can see thumbnails of all the patterns here on the Nihon Vogue Keito Dama website. Don’t know which patterns in it I’ll tackle yet.

Speaking of Keito Dama, these gloves are the first Keito Dama pattern I ever tackled. They’re from last year’s winter issue (#140), designed by Mayumi Kawai (河合真弓). Had a wee hickup when I realized 3/4 of the way through the second glove that, hey, I don’t have two right hands. After a bit of frogging, all is well.

Keito Dama gloves

Keito Dama gloves

Now I’m working on a lace crochet tablerunner for my mother-in-law’s Christmas present. Hope I get it done in time. The pattern is another Japanese pattern, 29-44 Motif Tablerunner.

Leave a Reply

