Error in newsletter version of Susitna pattern

It’s come to my attention that the version of my pattern Susitna that appears in the Oct/Nov 2007 issue of the Machine Knitters Guild of Pennsylvania newsletter contains a very unfortunate typo. The diagram as they rendered it shows exactly what you should NOT do. If you follow the instructions there, you’ll just get a big mess of tangled yarn.

I asked MKGOP to send out a correction so that people won’t be frustrated by a pattern that doesn’t work, but to my knowledge, they haven’t done so. Click here to download my original PDF version, which shows the correct needle placement.

Here’s the mistake: at the beginning, where the needle arrangement is shown, the MKGOP version shows the needles lined up (i.e., the needles on the main bed are directly over the needles on the ribber bed). This will not work! If you do it this way, the entire bag will unravel, and all your work will be for nothing.

Instead, the needles on the ribber bed need to be between the needles on the main bed, as shown in the original version of the pattern. This is what the diagram should look like:

needle

My apologies for this, but I have no control over MKGOP’s newsletter and its formatting. I was under the impression that they were just going to provide a link to the original pattern, not paste my entire pattern into their newsletter, but apparently there was a miscommunication.

If you have any questions about the pattern, please do let me know. Likewise, if you spot any more typos, either in the MKGOP version or in my original, please give a holler.

Leave a Reply

