Mikey cap

Lately I’ve been knitting on 200 needles at a time, but I’ve been hankering for a good hand knitting project. Something I can knit up with stash yarn – no problem there, considering how much that is! – and preferably something more on the mindless side of knitting. I want a portable project I can knit on while waiting at the post office or whatnot.

After lots of indecision, I decided to make an English driving cap for my dad. I’m using the Mikey Cap pattern with some gray tweed yarn from my stash (a Canadian yarn called Bouquet Amberley that I’ve never heard of). For years I’ve offered to knit for my dad, but he doesn’t use any knit items – no socks, no sweaters, no anything. He seemed to like the hat idea, though, and chose the yarn himself. Here goes nothing!

Leave a Reply

