Challenge: punchcard 4J

Yesterday evening I tested out two Brother punchcards as part of the summer machine knitting challenge. TI did punchcard 11J first, a nice tuck pattern, but I couldn’t get a good photo of it (texture doesn’t show up well in photos with my digital camera). I’ll try again when my camera battery recharges.

The second punchcard I tried last night was 4J, one of the Fair Isle cards. I’d never tried two-color knitting on the machine, but I can’t get over how easy it is to knit with two colors! I just assumed it would be really difficult, but it’s a piece of cake. That shouldn’t come as a surprise, but I just assumed I’d need to do a lot of time-consuming hand manipulation.

I did two swatches, both 48 stitches wide at T6. Each one was knit for 60 rows (one repeat of the punchcard), and the yarns used were two leftover wool sock yarns in red and blue (brand unknown).

Here’s 4J with blue as the main color and red as the contrasting color:

Compare that to this swatch, which is the same card with red as the main color and blue as the contrasting color:

I know the pictures are horrible, but I couldn’t seem to get any that showed detail and yet weren’t hard on the eyes. They’re a lot less bright in person.

Anyway, I’m very impressed with the Fair Isle capabilities of this machine. I’m going to have to try the other Fair Isle punchcards now.

One thought on “Challenge: punchcard 4J

  1. Yikes, yes, they are a bit eyebending, aren’t they? I love fair-isle, it’s so much easier on a machine. I think it was probably the first thing I tried out, in fact.

Leave a Reply

