Confessions of a lapsed machine knitter

I have a confession to make: I miss my Brother standard-gauge machine!

The older, bare-bones Corona machine I have here with me at grad school is just not cutting the mustard. Sure, it’s a sturdy machine and it’ll produce lots of stockinette in no time. But I must be really spoiled by my punchcard machine, because lately I’m finding that I’d rather not use the Corona because it means tedious hand manipulation of stitches (it has no pattern device whatsoever). One more month or so and I’ll be back at my parents’ house for the summer (well, also doing fieldwork!) where I can machine knit to my heart’s content.

Tuck patterns, racking, and ribbing – oh my!

I’ve been insanely busy with research this semester, but when I get the chance, I’m hand knitting a red baby sweater with leftover yarn (home knitting) and a light blueish-green basketweave scarf with leftover Araucania wool (office knitting). I’m not really in a rush to finish these as a) I don’t know anyone with a baby and will probably end up donating the sweater to charity, and b) it’s hot and I don’t need a wool scarf right now.

Leave a Reply

