Thanksgiving knitting

I wasn’t able to go home to my family for Thanksgiving this year – have you seen ticket prices to Alaska recently? highway robbery! – so I spent a quiet couple of days here. Mostly knitting and watching movies, with a side trip to the blood bank to donate platelets.

Been using up lots of stash yarn, come to think of it.

Here’s the first Odessa hat I made, not realizing that when the pattern said it would fit an average-sized head, that didn’t mean me.


Since that was too small, I made this one:


Both of the Odessa hats are done sans beads, partly because I’m too lazy to fiddle with beads, and partly because I knit at movie nights in the dark. I can knit without looking at my hands, but somehow I don’t think the beading would work.

I’m also one inch shy of being finished with a Christmas present, but I won’t post the photo here in case the recipient is reading this.

Finally, a Noro Kureyon scarf I started last night while watching movies at a friend’s place:


The pattern I’m using is the Knotted Openwork Scarf, although mine looks quite different because I’m using thicker yarn.

7 thoughts on “Thanksgiving knitting

  1. Thanks! I forgot to include a link to the pattern, the Knotted Openwork Scarf. So I just edited the post.

    It works up fairly quickly, too.

  2. Wow is that ever pretty and it looks totally different with the thicker yarn. Great colors too. Nice work on the Odessa hats too. Are yours beadless? I can’t tell.

  3. I know, doesn’t it look completely different? The first time I saw something made with that pattern, it was with larger yarn, too. So when I finally saw the actual pattern, it didn’t look right at all.

Leave a Reply

