Finished objects!

Well, some bottled beer, anyway. Yesterday when I mentioned I was going to bottle my beer once I got home, two friends volunteered to help bottle. Excellent! So they came home with me and we made quick work of it. Here are the happy little bottles:


I’m keeping them in a Rubbermaid container to keep as much light away from them as possible (especially since there are a couple of green bottles in there, which don’t block light as well as brown ones). Not to mention that if any of them end up as bottle rockets – I hope not! – it’ll be easier to clean up if the explosion’s inside a container.

For some reason we used a lot fewer bottles than I was expecting. Wonder why the yield was so low? The good news, though, is that it’s pretty tasty, even though it’s not carbonated yet. Success!

What else? While at our customary Friday movie night, I worked on my Odessa hat. During the first movie, Jesus of Montreal, I could knit because I’ve seen it before, which meant I didn’t have to look at the subtitles so much. The second movie was 8 Femmes (8 Women), a quirky French movie about a murder mystery. With singing. I loved this movie! Highly recommended. Anyway, even without knitting at all during the second movie, I got this much done:


I just started the decreases, so I’m guessing it’s about 75% finished. Hurrah for quick projects!

The yarn is some German yarn I’ve never heard of, Campus. I can’t even tell from the label whether that’s the yarn name or the brand name. The only words on the label at all are “Campus” and the fiber content. Weird. Pretty, though, isn’t it? I haven’t decided whether to keep it for myself or give it as a gift. I like it a lot, but I don’t think it’d ever be cold enough to wear it in Houston.

And now, back to grading homework.

Leave a Reply

