first machine-knit sock!

I finally did it: knit a sock on my knitting machine! Yes, yet another thing that this procrastinator has been meaning to do for a long time.


It’s done with the Penny Sock pattern (at the Dimity’s site), using Confetti, a Regia sock yarn knock-off that’s been in my stash for a few years (hurrah for stashbusting!). For some reason the foot looks really short to me, but it fits my size 10 feet perfectly, so it’s quite huge for a women’s sock.

You start at the toe and knit past the heel seamlessly (yes, you can do circular knitting on a flatbed knitting machine), and then do the ribbing flat. Unfortunately, you can’t knit ribbing in the round on a flatbed machine (not without far too much hand manipulation of stitches to make it worth your while, anyway), but when it comes off the machine, you just have to seam up the ribbing and it’s done. I’m a bit rusty when it comes to seaming 2×2 rib, but it turned out ok.

Action shot!

Now I’m thinking I might tank the hand-knit socks for my brother and just knit him a pair on the machine. It would certainly be faster! I suppose I should probably knit the mate to this sock first though, huh?

One thought on “first machine-knit sock!

  1. Congratulations on your mk sock! It’s a great feeling huh :) I’m working on making socks with both methods, part by hand and part by machine. I’m thinking the ribbing and stockinette on the machine and the heel by hand. Anyway, that’s a beautiful sock ya got there.

    Clarisse >^..^<

Leave a Reply

