Onitsuka Chihiro

Just stumbled across a Japanese singer, Onitsuka Chihiro (鬼束ちひろ), and whoa! What a voice! (Her website, in Japanese, and a Wikipedia listing, in English.) The lyrics are wonderful, but even if you don’t speak Japanese, her voice is really moving. I can’t recommend her songs enough.

The best song so far is Watashi to warutsu wo (Waltz with me). I found lyrics here, but I don’t think they’re totally accurate. (Maybe the version I have isn’t the same one that this person used to write up the translation. I’ll write up my own when I have time.)

For all the blog visitors who’ve come here via Google, sorry, but I don’t have anything interesting to say about her. Just trying to spread the word about what a great artist she is.

3 thoughts on “Onitsuka Chihiro

  1. Hi!
    I’m busnutmedic at the LHC. I just read in the newspaper about two ladies cutting off their hair for LoL and I remembered all those threads that have been around LHC and decided to google it, and maybe send the info to the newspaper editor. Google came up with your site as one of the top matches for “Locks of love scam or charitable organization”.
    Anyhow, I figured I’d say hi!

  2. Another LHCer checking in! It’s Thursday here, I’ve been lurking on your blog for a while, keep meaning to post a comment! Your Dresser Scarf is beautiful – I think you deserve a silver medal :)

  3. Well hello! Nice to see you both here. :)

    One of the top sites for LoL? Sweet! Then perhaps people will start hearing the negative about it, too, and think before they support a charity with a shady reputation.

    Thanks for the compliment on the Dresser scarf. I’m still knitting away on it – maybe one day I’ll get it finished! By the winter 2010 Olympics, maybe.

Leave a Reply

