Long hair is vain?

It’s recently come to my attention that some people think I’m vain because I have long hair. I was really confused by this, but now I think I see why they have that impression: they think long hair is a lot of work.

Nothing could be further from the truth! I spend far, far less time on my hair now that’s it long than I ever did with short hair. Long hair is the lazy person’s ultimate time saver. It’s so easy.

Contrary to what fashion magazines will tell you, long hair does not require a bazillion products and extra time. I use a very small amount of shampoo and conditioner, despite having very thick, very long hair. In fact, I just finished up a bottle of shampoo that I bought a YEAR ago. That’s right – one bottle of shampoo lasts me a year. Does my hair look greasy or smell funky? Not at all. You just don’t need nearly the amount of shampoo that most people seem to use.

So, the question is, how can people with long hair combat the prevalent attitude that long hair is a sign of a vain person who spends an ungodly amount of time on grooming? It simply isn’t true.

9 thoughts on “Long hair is vain?

  1. It’s not the amount of care required that make people think long hair is vain. It is the constant fiddling with hair that gives that impression. I have never known a person with long hair who can keep their hands off it for more than five minutes. Hair is constantly being put up, taken down, twirled, gazed at, rearranged, etc, etc, etc.

  2. Well, then you haven’t met me. I hate playing with my hair.

    In fact, most people I know who fiddle with their hair have short hair. It needs so much styling that they apparently can’t keep their hands off it. Whereas mine, once styled, needs no further messing with.

    Besides, you’re missing the point. The amount of care required is LESS for long hair.

  3. But from what I can see of you every day, you don’t actually pay attention to your surroundings. You are so self involved that I’ll bet you haven’t ever actually noticed anyone at all playing with their hair.

  4. Nice try, but have you heard of IP address tracking? You’re not in the same state as me, much less someone who knows me in real life.

    I can’t imagine how boring your life is that you need to insult people you don’t even know.

  5. Hi. I was reading about you having really long hair. I’m curious how long you have worn it like that? From your post it sounded like you had short hair in the not too distant past. Also do you normally wear it down loose, in a braid or in a bun?

    Thanks

  6. Hey. I was hoping evenutally you’d get around to the questions I asked about your long hair above. Also, I’m really surprised to hear that you use so little shampoo. Is it also a myth that it takes forever to dry?

  7. Hi,

    Sorry, I don’t get time to check my blog much during this time of year.

    I’ve been growing my hair for about 12 years now, and it was really short when I started. But I’ve had several trims during that time, so it’s not as long as it would be if I’d let it grow without interference.

    I usually wear it in a braid, a bun, or loose. I really don’t use much shampoo at all. One regular-sized bottle lasts me about 6 months. Most people use a lot more than is actually necessary to get clean hair. It does take a long time to dry, but it doesn’t bother me in the slightest.

Leave a Reply

