dancingbarefoot vs. the knitting machine

I decided to try to make a shrug with my bulky-gauge knitting machine today. I’ll still handknit the other one I was planning, but I just felt like I had to try this today.

So far, so good. I’m using a blue worsted weight yarn. I’m making up the pattern as I go, but gleaning a lot of patterning ideas from various shrug patterns I’ve seen online. If it works, I’ll write up the pattern and make it available for any machine knitters that might want if (if I dare flatter myself that anyone would want a pattern of mine).

I’m making it in one piece from wrist to wrist. When it comes off the machine, all I’ll have to do is sew up the arm seams and block it a bit. Very tempting to skip the blocking, but the finished products always look better when blocked, in my experience.

My roommates probably wonder what the God-awful noise coming from my bedroom is – the machine is a bit loud – but let them wonder.

Well, I’m halfway finished, so I’d better get on with it. It’s working out so well! Gone is all the frustration I’ve had in the past, fighting with the knitting machine to get it to do what I want. Hurrah!

2 thoughts on “dancingbarefoot vs. the knitting machine

  1. Hi, I am presently hand knitting a shrug that sounds like the same type. But I really want to knit one on my machine. I have only made a few samples and a pair of felted slippers for my 3 year old grandson. Please let me know how yours turns out and I would be very interested in you pattern since I know nothing about machine knitting.
    Patty the Spinner

  2. Hi Patty,

    Mine turned out ok, I guess, but since I live in a hot climate, I didn’t end up wearing it much. I barely know anything about machine knitting myself, but I can try to write up the pattern one of these days.

    Have fun with your machine!

Leave a Reply

