What’s on the needles

The other day I cast on for this Pierrot Yarns sweater vest (click here for Ravelry link) that’s been in my knitting/crochet queue for a long time. There’s a knit-a-long on Ravelry if you’d like to join in. I’m using some mill end tweed I got from WEBS. It’s a bit rough on the hands while knitting, but it really softens up after washing. Yet another reason to wash gauge swatches – if I didn’t know it got softer, there’s no way I would’ve chosen this yarn.

I had to resize the vest to make the bust slightly larger, but other than that, it’s pretty smooth going. I also decided to work it in the round. For me, knitting is much faster than purling, so doing it in the round speeds things up.

progress of sweater vest

It’s a lot more yellow and less orange than the photo shows. I’m pretty pleased with it so far.

I’m also doing some knitted sampler squares when I need some portable knitting. (The sweater vest isn’t very portable because the cone of yarn I’m using weighs a ton. Don’t feel like lugging it around.) I’m using up worsted weight remnants to make squares that I’ll eventually seam together into a blanket. Nothing original about it, but it’s a nice way for me to use up scraps and try out new stitch patterns.

Let’s see… what else? Oh, I picked up a copy of the new summer Keito Dama last week. Lots of cute summery crochet outfits in this issue.

3 thoughts on “What’s on the needles

  1. The English version is definitely still available. I’d suggest posting in the Pierrot Yarns group on Ravelry if you’re having trouble downloading it.

Leave a Reply

